DEP}I}I_%IMENT OF ADMINI§TRAI_IYE SEB_YICES
165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106-1658

TO: AGENCY HEADS & AGENCY HUMAN RESOURCES ADMINISTRATORS
DT: October 6, 2016

RE:  General Letter 39 — Statewide Family and Medical Leave Policy — Revised

PURPOSE

This General Letter is to provide a statewide Family and Medical Leave Policy to ensure consistent application and
implementation of the state and federal family and medical leave laws. Therefore, any and all individual agency policies
on this topic are hereby deemed obsolete and agencies shall comply with the instructions specified herein. Supplemental
information is available to State employees and agency Human Resources professionals via the DAS publication,
“Understanding Family and Medical Leave (A Primer for Connecticut State Employees),” which is incorporated by
reference into this policy.

BACKGROUND|

Legislation passed at both federal and state levels provides eligible employees with job-protected leave for certain family
and medical reasons. The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) was enacted by Congress in 1993 and was
amended in 2008 and 2009 to extend additional leave rights to families of members of the Armed Forces. The federal
Department of Labor issued revised regulations regarding the federal FMLA effective January 16, 2009 and March 8,
2013.

Connecticut’s statute governing family and medical leaves for public sector employees, C.G.S. §5-248a, was enacted in
1988, and was amended in 2009 and 2016 to include military caregiver leave and military qualifying exigency leave.

ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible for federal FMLA, employees must have at least 12 months of total service (in the aggregate) and have
worked at least 1,250 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding the commencement of leave. (“Hours worked”
does not include time spent on paid leave — sick, vacation, PL, administrative — or unpaid leave. However, overtime
hours and military leave do count toward the 1,250-hour requirement.)

To qualify for state family/medical leave, employees must be a permanent employee with the state as defined in C.G.S.
§5-196(19).

A state employee may be eligible for:
e Federal FMLA only,




e State family/medical leave only,
¢ Both federal FMLA and state family/medical leave, or
¢ Neither,

An employee who is eligible under only one law receives benefits in accordance with that law only. If the leave qualifies
for both federal FMLA leave and state family/medical leave, the leave may count against an eligible employee’s
entitlement under both laws and run concurrently. Federal FMLA {though not state family/medical leave) may run
concurrently with a Workers” Compensation absence.

REASONS FOR LEAVE

The circumstances covered under either the-state family/medical leave or federal FMLA or a combination of the acts are

as follows:

e The birth of employee’s child or adoption of a child by the employee;
e The placement of a foster child with the employee {federal FMLA only);
The “serious illness or “serious health condition” of a child*, spouse®* or parent;
The “serious illness” or “serious health condition” of the employee;
For an employee to serve as an organ or bone marrow donor;
Military family leave
o Military caregiver leave
o Qualifying exigency leave

AMOUNT OF LEAVE

Except as described below, eligible employees are entitled to a maximum of 12 weeks of unpaid ieave or paid leave with
earned accruals in a twelve-month period under federal FMLA and are entitled to a maximum of twenty-four (24) weeks
of unpaid leave® within a two-year period under state family/medical leave,

For purposes of military caregiver leave, however, both federal and state law provided additional leave time. Under
federal FMLA, an eligible employee is entitled to a maximum of 26 weeks of unpaid leave or paid leave with earned
accruals during a single 12-month period to care for a covered service member {including a covered veteran) who was
injured while on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces. Under state family/medical leave, an eligible employee is entitled
to a maximum of 26 weeks of unpaid* leave in a 2-year period to care for a covered service member who was injured
while on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces. Under both state and federal law, military caregiver leave is a one-time
benefit per service member per injury.
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Where possible, leave time granted under the state’s family/medical leave law will run concurrently with the federal
FMLA entitlement.

*  Under C.G.S. §5-248a, the state family/medical leave is in addition to leave provided under C.G.S. §46a-
60(a)(7),and leave provided under the state Workers’ Compensation statutes. '

*  If the leave is for the employee’s own serious illness or serious health condition, leave under C.G.S. §5-248a
does not start until the employee exhausts his or her sick leave accruals.

ACCRUAL USAGE

If leave is for an employee’s own serious iliness or serious health condition, the employee is required to exhaust all
accrued sick leave unless his or her labor contract states otherwise.

Employees may request to use accrued vacation, personal leave or compensatory leave while on federal FMLA leave
and/or state family/medical ieave but are not required to do so.

ADVANCE NOTICE AND MEDICAL DOCUMENTATION|

Employees are required to submit a medical certificate to substantiate leave taken for a serious health condition/serious
illness. Employees must use the following forms:

¢ Form P-33A-Employee ~ when the leave is for the employee’s own iliness. _
¢ Form P-33B-Caregiver — when the employee requests leave to care for a child, spouse or parent with a serious
health condition/serious illness.

For military family leave, employees are required to submit a certificate to substantiate leave for a serious injury or
iliness of a covered service member or a gualifying exigency. Employees must use the following forms:

¢ Form DOL-WH384 — Certification of Qualifying Exigency for Military Family Leave {federal and state)

¢ Form DOL-WH385 — Certification for Serious Injury or Iiness of a Current Service member for Military Family
Leave {federal and state) ,

¢ Form DOL-WH385-V - Certification for Serious Injury or lllness of a Veteran for Military Caregiver Leave (federal}

Where the employee has advance notice of the need for the leave (i.e., an anticipated birth, adoption or surgery), the
medical certificate form should be submitted at least 30 days in advance, using approximate dates if definite ones are
not yet avaifable. Where there is no forewarning (i.e., major unexpected iliness), the medical form should be submitted
as soon as the employee becomes aware that he/she is to be absent for an FMLA gualifying reason. Failure to provide
the needed documentation may result in a disapproval of the leave or a delay in its commencement.

Employees who request a leave under the State’s C.G.S. §5-248a are required to sign a statement confirming their intent
to return to work immediately following the leave. Failure to return to work at the end of the leave period may be treated
as a resignation unless an extension of the employee’s absence has been agreed to and approved in writing by the agency.
In no event shall the period of FMLA exceed the benefit provided under federal or state law.
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BENEFIT CONTINUATION

The state will continue the employee’s health insurance coverage while the employee is on leave. The employee must
continue to pay any share of the group health plan premiums that he/she had paid prior to taking leave. The use of
FMLA leave will not result in the loss of any employment benefit that accrued prior to the start of an employee’s leave.

RETURN TO WORK

At the conclusion of family/medical leave, employees are entitled (with limited exceptions) to return to the same position
or an equivalent position with equivalent pay, benefits and working conditions. In the vast majority of cases, employees
will be returned to the position they occupied prior to the leave. If this is not possible, the agency will notify them of their
new position prior to their return from leave. In cases involving the serious health condition of an employee, the agency
will require the employee to produce a fitness-for-duty report on which the physician has certified the employee is able
to return to work. This requirement protects the employee, co-workers and the public from the negative consequences
that can result when an individual returns to work before being medically ready to do so. Therefore, employees who are
notified of the need for a fitness-for-duty certification will not be allowed to return to work without it.

UnNLAWFUL ACTS

FMLA makes it unlawful for any employer to:

e Interfere with, restrain, or deny the exercise of any right provided under FMLA;
e Discharge or discriminate against any person for opposing any practice made unlawful by FMLA or for
involvement in any proceeding under or relating to FMLA.

The U.S. Department of Labor is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints of violations regarding the federal
FMLA. Complaints regarding federal and or state family/medical leave may be directed to the Human Resources
Director/designee in each state agency or to the employee’s union.

MORE INFORMATION

As mentioned above, supplemental information is available in the DAS brochure, “Understanding Family and Medical
Leave (A Primer for Connecticut State Employees)” which can be found on the DAS website. Employees who have
additional questions may also contact their Human Resources Specialist in the Human Resources Office.
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Melody A. Curréy, Commissioner Date
Department of Administrative Services
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