
State of Connecticut – Office of the Claims Commissioner 
CLAIM FORM  

 

Claimant Name__________________________________ ID#________________ Date___________________ 

 

Current Address _____________________________ Forwarding Address______________________________ 

            

                           _____________________________                                  ______________________________ 

 

Most claims must be filed within one year of the date of incident. See Connecticut General Statutes § 4-148 for more 

information. 
 

COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING SECTIONS.  PROVIDE SPECIFIC INFORMATION. 

 

A. Provide a concise statement of the claim. Specify the date, time, place and the state agency the claim is against: 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Attach 2nd sheet if necessary) 

 

B.  Explain why the state is liable for the damages:  

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Attach 2nd sheet if necessary) 

 

C.  Total amount of monetary damages requested: _____________________________________ 

 

D. Do you request permission to sue the state?  Yes________ No________ 

 

E. Filing fee of $25.00 or $50.00 is enclosed?  Yes________  No________ 

 

If you are requesting a fee waiver, is the completed Application for Waiver of Filing Fee and Affidavit form enclosed? 

Yes_____________ No_____________ 

 

F. Have all administrative remedies been exhausted prior to filing this claim? Yes________ No________ 

Please enclose documentation if applicable. 

 

I hereby present a Notice of Claim against the State of Connecticut for damages. 

 

Signature______________________________________________________ Date________________________ 

 

It is highly recommended that a claim for $5000 or less be sworn and notarized so that the claim may be resolved 

without a formal hearing. 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on this __________day of _______________________________________ 

 

Notary Public __________________________________Date of Commission expiration __________________ 

 

 

Original claim form and one (1) copy should be delivered to the Office of the Claims Commissioner, 450 Columbus 

Boulevard, North Tower, Suite 203, Hartford, CT 06103. 

(Rev. 11-16) 


